top of page
TARTAN CALENDAR      Jan     Feb     Mar     Apr     May     Jun     Jul     Aug     Sep     Oct     Nov     Dec     TARTAN CALENDAR 

Click the tartan to view its entry in The Scottish Registers of Tartans which includes registration details, restrictions, and registrant information.


Unregistered tartans may link to one of the web's online design environments for similar information.


For any questions about reproduction of designs or weaving of these tartans, please contact the registrant directly or via this website.

World Whisky Weekend

"Today's rain is tomorrow's whisky."

~ Traditional

For every barrel of whisky made, the angels (and the devil) get their share! In the design of this tribute tartan to the "water of life", every color tells a story: the yellow lines on the brown band symbolize the fields of barley, essential for whisky production. The black squares represent the peat and coal used to dry the malted barley, while the small brown squares stand for the yeast. Darker blue squares signify the Scottish water, a crucial ingredient, and the brown lines depict the barrels where the whisky ages. Black lines symbolize the fungi that blacken the walls of the warehouses. White lines are for the glass bottles, and the light blue lines honor the "angel's share," the portion lost to evaporation. Meanwhile, the "devil's cut" refers to the liquid absorbed by the wood barrels! Make sure to pour yourself a dram before it disappears! Slainte! 💛 🤎 🧡 🖤 💙 👼 🥃

Scotch Whisky Day invites everyone to try a dram and celebrate the water of life.   The word whisky (or whiskey) is an anglicisation of the Classical Gaelic word uisce (or uisge) meaning "water" (now written as uisce in Irish Gaelic, and uisge in Scottish Gaelic). Distilled alcohol was known in Latin as aqua vitae ("water of life"). This was translated to Classical Gaelic as Irish: uisce beatha/Scottish Gaelic: uisge beatha "water of life".

Whisky is a strictly regulated spirit worldwide with many classes and types. The typical unifying characteristics of the different classes and types are the fermentation of grains, distillation, and aging in wooden barrels.

Scotch whiskies are generally distilled twice, although some are distilled a third time and others even up to twenty times.  The basic types of Scotch are malt and grain, which are combined to create blends. Scotch malt whiskies are divided into five main regions: Highland, LowlandIslaySpeyside and Campbeltown.

Designed by Stephen Patrick Sim, the Angel's Share tartan was created to celebrate Scotch Whisky Scotland's world famous national drink.  The tartan is designed to visibly portray 'the Angels' Share' - the 2% portion of distilled alcohol (said to be taken by the Angels) which evaporates though the oak barrel during the whisky maturation process.

The yellow lines on the brown band are the fields of barley; the black squares are for the peat and coal used to dry the malted barley. The small brown squares are for the yeast. The darker blue squares are for the Scottish water, the brown lines are the barrels, black lines the warehouses, the light blue lines are for the 'Angels' share', the resulting fungi from which blacken the walls of the warehouses and the white lines are for the glass bottles.

For a comprehensive roundup of Scotch whiskies, click the whisky bottles to see a roundup, of the latest winners of the Whisky Awards including whiskies cataloged by flavours including: 

Dried Fruit and Nut
Elegant and Floral
Fresh Fruit and Vanilla
Malt and Honey
Maritime and Smoky
Peat and Fruit
Rich and Peaty
Rich Fruit and Spice

bottom of page